Back To News

DII Regional Selections

April 27th, 2010

The NCAA has announced that 80 teams and 32 student-athletes have been selected to participate in the regional competition of the 2010 NCAA Division II Menís Golf Championships. The regional competitions will be conducted May 3-5.

The top five teams and the top two student-athletes not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 18-21 at The Sagamore Club in Noblesville, Ind. The finals will be hosted by the Indiana Sports Corporation, the University of Indianapolis, the Great Lakes Valley Conference and the Hamilton County Sports Authority.

There will be four regional sites in which two regions will meet and conduct regional tournaments. The regional tournaments will be paired as follows:

Atlantic and East

South and Southeast

Midwest and South Central

Central and West

Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institutionís name. 



The Resort at Glade Springs; Daniels, W. Va.; hosted by the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and Concord University.


Atlantic Region:

1.            Indiana (Pennsylvania)

2.            Concord

3.            Ohio Valley [West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]

4.            California (Pennsylvania)

5.            Clarion

6.            Charleston (West Virginia)

7.            Millersville

8.            Bluefield State

9.            Virginia State [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]

10.        West Liberty



1.            Drew Deimel, Gannon

2.            Kenny Bethea, Livingston

3.            Tyler Bidwell, Mercyhurst

4.            Mike Gervais, West Virginia Wesleyan


East Region:

1.            Wilmington (Delaware)

2.            American International

3.            Post [Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference]

4.            St. Thomas Aquinas

5.            Adelphi [Northeast-10 Conference]

6.            Le Moyne

7.            Massachusetts-Lowell

8.            Dowling

9.            Goldey-Beacom

10.        Nyack



1.            D.J. Lantz, Southern New Hampshire

2.            Jonathan Radick, Holy Family

3.            Matt Horton, Saint Rose

4.            Joseph Leardo, Felician



Wilson Country Club; Wilson, N.C.; hosted by Barton College.


South Region:

1.            Barry

2.            Florida Southern [Sunshine State Conference]

3.            North Alabama [Gulf South Conference]

4.            West Florida

5.            Nova Southeastern

6.            Lynn

7.            Valdosta State

8.            Rollins

9.            Saint Leo

10.        Arkansas Tech



1.            Ben Cuzen, Henderson State

2.            Chase Smith, Delta State

3.            Bryn Powers, West Georgia

4.            Zach Potter, Florida Tech


Southeast Region:

1.            Georgia College [Peach Belt Conference]

2.            Barton

3.            Lander

4.            Belmont Abbey [Conference Carolinas]

5.            Flagler

6.            Queens (North Carolina)

7.            Armstrong Atlantic State

8.            Newberry

9.            Columbus State

10.        Lincoln Memorial [South Atlantic Conference]



1.            Brad Caldwell, North Greenville

2.            Wade Binfield, Clayton State

3.            Craig Gibson, Georgia Southwestern State

4.            Jordan Waler, UNC Pembroke



The Territory Golf Club; Duncan, Okla.; hosted by Cameron University.


Midwest Region:

1.            Ferris State

2.            Wayne State (Michigan)

3.            Indianapolis

4.            Grand Valley State [Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletics Conference]

5.            Drury

6.            Northern Kentucky [Great Lakes Valley Conference]

7.            Wisconsin-Parkside

8.            Saginaw Valley State

9.            Findlay

10.        Bellarmine



1.            Clark Fry, Rockhurst

2.            Jay Overy, Ashland

3.            Paul Dagys, Lewis

4.            Matthew Rau, Missouri-St. Louis


South Central Region:

1.            Abilene Christian [Lone Star Conference]

2.            Central Missouri [Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association]

3.            St. Edwardís [Heartland Conference]

4.            St. Maryís (Texas)

5.            Dallas Baptist

6.            Midwestern State

7.            Cameron

8.            Central Oklahoma

9.            Newman

10.        East Central



1.            Brad Nipper, Southwest Baptist

2.            Kyle Fouts, Northeastern State

3.            Dustin Yeager, Washburn

4.            Brady Wood, Northeastern State



The Classic Club; Palm Desert, Calif.; hosted by California State University, San Bernardino.


Central Region:

1.            Colorado-Colorado Springs [Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference]

2.            Western New Mexico

3.            St. Cloud State

4.            Bemidji State

5.            Fort Lewis

6.            Colorado School of Mines

7.            Minnesota State Mankato [Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference]

8.            Concordia-St. Paul

9.            Colorado Christian

10.        Colorado State-Pueblo



1.            Brady Strangstalien, Winona State

2.            Greg Johnson, Regis (Colorado)

3.            Devon Kastler, Nebraska-Kearney

4.            Adam Fields, Wayne State (Nebraska)


West Region:

1.            Cal State Chico

2.            Cal State Stanislaus

3.            Grand Canyon [Pacific West Conference]

4.            Cal State Monterey Bay [California Collegiate Athletic Association]

5.            Western Washington

6.            Sonoma State

7.            Dixie State

8.            Cal State San Bernardino

9.            Hawaii Hilo

10.        St. Martinís



1.            Ryan Indovina, Cal State Dominguez Hills

2.            Cavin McCall, Cal State Dominguez Hills

3.            Keith Okasaki, UC San Diego

4.            Ryan Sheffer, Notre Dame De Namur


Sonoma State University defeated California State University, San Bernardino in an exciting two-team playoff to win the 2009 NCAA Division II Menís Golf Championships. This was Sonoma Stateís first menís golf national championship in school history. The championships were hosted at Loomis Trail Golf Club in Blaine, Wash., by Western Washington University.

Highlights of the NCAA Division II Menís Golf Championships will be shown on CBS at 2 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, June 20.

For more information about the championships, log on to