About the Indiana Women's Golf Association

About the Indiana Women's Golf Association

In 1921, the Indiana Women's Golf Association was formed when a group of women get together at South Grove Golf Course for a one day tournament arranged by Mrs. F.G. Maple. The following June, the original Battleground layout of the Lafayette Country Club hosted the first women's State Amateur Championship. Thirty women competed in the event with the medalist and eventual winner begin Mrs. B.C. Stevenson of Indianapolis.

During the height of World War II in 1943, the IWGA canceled all of its events and put all of its money surplus into Series E war bonds at $18.50 each. The IWGA resumed all of its activities in 1945 after the conclusion of the war.

In 1964, 15 year old Claudia Mayhew of Indianapolis won the IWGA State Amateur becoming the youngest champion of the event. A record that still stands today.

Five years later in 1969, Alice O'Neal Dye would win her ninth and final IWGA State Amateur Championship.

The Indiana Women's Golf Association became a part of the Indiana Golf Office in 1998 effectively handing the day-to-day operations of the organization to the Golf Office staff.

The Mission of the Indiana Women’s Golf Association is to promote the game of golf while maintaining the traditions and integrity of the game. We seek to:

  • Maximize competitive opportunities for Women amateur players throughout the state of Indiana,

  • Support the development of the next generation of women golfers through philanthropic engagement, and

  • Partner with other Indiana Golf Office organizations to increase the impact we can have on golf in Indiana.