Back To News

DalCorobbo Wins Senior Championship in Playoff

August 18th, 2015

It took a two-putt from 50 feet on the 18th hole of the Indiana PGA Senior Championship to secure a spot in the playoff for the title.  John DalCorobbo of Brickyard Crossing GC converted the 50 footer to finish the tournament at 2-under-par, and tie Bill Schumaker of Crooked Lake GC. 

The duo headed to the par-4, 1st to playoff for the title, where DalCorobbo hit his approach to 2 and a half feet and made birdie for the win.

“Heading to 18, I thought Bill was 1-under-par,” DalCorobbo said.  “So when I was putting, I thought I needed to two-putt to win.  Early in the day, Tim (Holt) was in control of the tournament and I was lucky to be able to catch him.”

DalCorobbo’s round was back-and-forth all day, carding three birdies and four bogeys today at Harbour Trees GC in Noblesville.  Tied with Holt headed to 18, Holt’s tee shot found the greenside creek, taking him out of contention.

“For me, today was all about getting up-and-down and making putts,” DalCorobbo said.  “Tim played great and I just wanted to hang in there and hopefully get on a roll at some point."

Five players in addition to DalCorobbo will represent Indiana in the Senior Professional Championship October 15-18 in Seaside, Cali. at Bayonet and Black Horse Golf Courses.  Those players include Timothy Holt, Nick’s Golf Center, Cary Hungate, Kokomo CC, Bradley Mays, Pebble Brook GC, Jeff Schroeder, Prestwick CC, and Tony Louden, Whispering Creek GC.

Heading into this week’s event, DalCorobbo was already except for the Senior PNC.  He finished in the top 35 in last year’s event, and qualified for the 2015 Senior PGA Championship, where he made the cut and gained the exemption.

“My goal for the season was to win the Assistants, Senior and PNC,” DalCorobbo said.  “The Assistants didn’t turn out how I had hoped, but I’m happy with the outcome today and hope to play well next week in South Bend.”

Todd Sandow of Sycamore GC claimed the first alternate spot for the Senior PNC, followed by Jeff Howerton of Sultan’s Run GC and Todd Smith of Rock Hollow GC.

Click here for full field results.